UEFA Euro 2024: Dates, teams, schedule and more to know ahead of soccer tournament

One of soccer's most prestigious continental tournaments is less than a month away and the anticipation is building for UEFA Euro 2024.

Outside of the World Cup, the UEFA Euro Championship is one of the most-watched soccer tournaments in the world, taking place every four years. The battle to determine who is the best national soccer team in Europe will have 24 nations competing in this year's tournament. The matches will take place over the course of one month in what will be another exhilarating fight to win the Henri Delaunay Trophy.

With kickoff taking place in a few weeks, here is everything to know for Euro 2024:

Where is Euro 2024?

Euro 2024 will be hosted in Germany.

When is Euro 2024?

Euro 2024 will run from June 14-July 14.

Who is in Euro 2024? Euro 2024 groups

Group A

Group B

Group C

Group D

Group E

Group F

How does Euro 2024 knockout round work?

Each team will play every team in its group, and the top two teams based on points will advance to the knockout round. The four best third-place teams, based on points, will also advance to the knockout round. The knockout round matchups are predetermined by group. Example: Group A winner will play Group C runner-up, etc.

Euro 2024 schedule

Group stages: June 14-26

Round of 16: June 29-July 2

Quarterfinals: July 5-6

Semifinals: July 9-10

Final: July 14

Euro 2024 host cities

There are 10 host cities where games will be played. They are:

  • Berlin: Olympiastadion Berlin

  • Cologne: Cologne Stadium

  • Dortmund: BVB Stadion Dortmund

  • Dusseldorf: Düsseldorf Arena

  • Frankfurt: Frankfurt Arena

  • Gelsenkirchen: Arena AufSchalke

  • Hamburg: Volksparkstadion Hamburg

  • Leipzig: Leipzig Stadium

  • Munich: Munich Football Arena

  • Stuttgart: Stuttgart Arena

Olympiastadion Berlin will be the host of the final.

Past UEFA Euro champions

2020: Italy

2016: Portugal

2012: Spain

2008: Spain

2004: Greece

2000: France

1996: Germany

1992: Denmark

1988: Netherlands

1984: France

1980: Germany

1976: Czech Republic

1972: Germany

1968: Italy

1964: Spain

1960: Russia

This article originally appeared on USA TODAY: UEFA Euro 2024: Dates, teams, schedule, stadiums and more