Martin Truex Jr. to start first at Kansas

Martin Truex Jr. is congratulated after winning the pole for the NASCAR Cup Series auto race at Kansas Speedway in Kansas City, Kan., Friday, Oct. 20, 2017. (AP Photo/Colin E. Braley)

KANSAS CITY, Kan. — Martin Truex Jr.’s run of success at 1.5-mile tracks is continuing.

Truex has won the last three races at 1.5-milers and will start first in Sunday’s race at 1.5-mile Kansas Speedway.

Truex posted the fastest lap in the third round of qualifying to edge out Kevin Harvick. It’s his first pole of the playoffs, though he’s won playoff races at Chicago and Charlotte already this season. By virtue of that Charlotte win, he’s automatically advancing to the third round of the playoffs.

Here’s how the field will line up in Sunday’s race.

1. Martin Truex Jr.
2. Kevin Harvick
3. Ryan Blaney
4. Matt Kenseth
5. Denny Hamlin
6. Daniel Suarez
7. Erik Jones
8. Kyle Busch
9. Jamie McMurray
10. Clint Bowyer
11. Brad Keselowski
12. Austin Dillon
13. Jimmie Johnson
14. Kyle Larson
15. Chase Elliott
16. Kurt Busch
17. Michael McDowell
18. Joey Logano
19. Ryan Newman
20. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
21. Chris Buescher
22. Kasey Kahne
23. Danica Patrick
24. Paul Menard
25. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
26. Aric Almirola
27. AJ Allmendinger
28. David Ragan
29. Trevor Bayne
30. Ty Dillon
31. Matt DiBenedetto
32. Landon Cassill
33. Brett Moffitt
34. Gray Gaulding
35. Corey LaJoie
36. Cole Whitt
37. BJ McLeod
38. Reed Sorenson
39. Jeffrey Earnhardt
40. Derrike Cope

– – – – – – –

Nick Bromberg is the editor of Dr. Saturday and From the Marbles on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!