Dirk Nowitzki, Dwyane Wade headline Naismith Hall of Fame's Class of 2023

Dwyane Wade is heading to the Hall of Fame. (Photo by Rob Foldy/Getty Images)
Dwyane Wade is heading to the Hall of Fame. (Photo by Rob Foldy/Getty Images) (Rob Foldy via Getty Images)

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2023 was officially announced at the Final Four on Saturday and it is a loaded one.

Dirk Nowitzki and Dwyane Wade, each legends with the Dallas Mavericks and Miami Heat, lead the way among players. The addition of Pau Gasol and Tony Parker alongside Nowitzki also means the class will feature three of the greatest European players ever.

Between that quartet of players alone, you have 39 NBA All-Star selections, 10 NBA championships and five Olympic medals.

The most legendary figure to be inducted, though, is arguably San Antonio Spurs head coach Gregg Popovich, the winningest coach in NBA history and a five-time champion. His former assistant, current Las Vegas Aces head coach Becky Hammon, will also be inducted for her playing career in the WNBA, though her work as a coach could end up being worthy in its own right.

The addition of Popovich and Parker also completes the Spurs dynasty's move to the Hall of Fame, with Tim Duncan earning induction in 2020 and Manu Ginobili in 2022.

Coaches Gene Bess, Gary Blair, David Hixon, Gene Keady and Jimmy Valvano also got the call.

The 1976 Olympic women's basketball team, which won the silver medal in its first Olympics appearance, was also inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The enshrinement ceremony is scheduled for Aug. 12 in Springfield, Massachusetts.

Naismith Hall of Fame Class of 2023

Dirk Nowitzki

Dallas Mavericks (1998-2019)

  • 2011 NBA champion

  • 2007 NBA MVP

  • 2011 NBA Finals MVP

  • 14-time NBA All-Star

  • Sixth on NBA's all-time scoring list (31,560 points)

Dwyane Wade

Miami Heat (2003-2016, 2018-19), Chicago Bulls (2016-17), Cleveland Cavaliers (2017-18)

  • Three-time NBA champion (2006, 2012, 2013)

  • 2006 Finals MVP

  • 13-time NBA All-Star

  • 2009 NBA scoring champion

  • Three-time NBA All-Defensive Second Team

  • 2008 Olympic gold medalist, 2004 Olympic bronze medalist

CORRECTS TO DWYANE, NOT SWAYNE - Team Giannis' Dirk Nowitzki, of the Dallas Mavericks, and Team LeBron's Dwyane Wade, of the Miami Heat, are given jerseys during the second half of an NBA All-Star basketball game, Sunday, Feb. 17, 2019, in Charlotte, N.C. The Team LeBron won 178-164. (AP Photo/Chuck Burton)
Dwyane Wade and Dirk Nowitzki are headed to the Hall of Fame. (AP Photo/Chuck Burton) (ASSOCIATED PRESS)

Pau Gasol

Memphis Grizzlies (2001-08), Los Angeles Lakers (2008-2014), Chicago Bulls (2014-16), San Antonio Spurs (2016-19), Milwaukee Bucks (2019)

  • Two-time NBA champion (2009, 2010)

  • Six-time NBA All-Star

  • 2002 NBA Rookie of the Year

  • 2006 FIBA World Cup gold medalist, three-time Olympic medalist

Tony Parker

San Antonio Spurs (2001-2018), Charlotte Hornets (2018-19)

  • Four-time NBA champion (2003, 2005, 2007, 2014)

  • 2007 NBA Finals MVP

  • Six-time NBA All-Star

Gregg Popovich

San Antonio Spurs (1996-present)

  • Five-time NBA champion (1999, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2014)

  • Three-time NBA Coach of the Year

  • NBA all-time wins leader (1,363)

San Antonio Spurs head coach Gregg Popovich (L) listens to Tony Parker during the second half of their NBA game against the Golden State Warriors in Oakland, California, February 2, 2006. The Spurs beat the Warriors 89-86. REUTERS/Kimberly White
Gregg Popovich and Tony Parker are officially a Hall of Fame duo. (REUTERS/Kimberly White) (Kimberly White / reuters)

Becky Hammon

As player: New York Liberty (1999-2006), San Antonio Stars (2007-14)

As coach: San Antonio Spurs (2014-2022), Las Vegas Aces (2022-present)

  • Six-time WNBA All-Star

  • 2007 WNBA assists leader

  • First female full-time assistant coach in NBA history

  • 2022 WNBA champion

  • 2022 WNBA Coach of the Year

Gene Keady

Western Kentucky (1978-80), Purdue (1980-2005)

  • Seven-time Big Ten Coach of the Year

  • Six-time Big Ten champion

  • 17 NCAA Tournament appearances

Gene Bess

Three Rivers Community College (1971-2021)

  • All-time winningest college coach (1,300 wins)

  • Two-time junior college national champion (1979, 1992)

Gary Blair

Stephen F. Austin (1985-93), Arkansas (1993-2003), Texas A&M (2003-22)

  • 2011 women's national champion

  • Two-time Final Four (1998-2011)

David Hixon

Amherst College (1977-2019)

  • Two-time Division III national champion (2007, 2013)

  • Two-time Division III Coach of the Year (2007, 2013)

United States Olympic women's basketball team waves after they won the silver medal.  (Photo by Bettmann Archive/Getty Images)
The United States women's basketball team has medaled in ever Olympics it has played in, starting in 1976. (Photo by Bettmann Archive/Getty Images) (Bettmann via Getty Images)

1976 Olympic women's U.S. basketball team

  • Won silver medal in first Olympic women's basketball tournament

Jim Valvano

Johns Hopkins (1969-70), Bucknell (1972-75), Iona (1975-80), NC State (1980-90)

  • 1983 national champion

  • Two-time ACC tournament champion (1983, 1987)

  • Two-time ACC regular season champion (1985, 1989)

  • Founded The V Foundation for Cancer Research before death in 1993