Boat Race crews 2024: Who is competing for Oxford and Cambridge?

Oxford and Cambridge will compete in the 2024 Boat Race  (Getty Images)
Oxford and Cambridge will compete in the 2024 Boat Race (Getty Images)

Oxford and Cambridge will vie again for Boat Race glory as the two universities meet in their annual clash on the River Thames.

Nearly 200 years since the first men’s race, the event is still going strong as a fixture of the spring sporting calendar.

The women’s race has run on the same day and course since 2015 having first been held in 1927.

Cambridge lead the men’s series 86-81, with one recorded dead heat, and have a 47-30 advantage in the women’s series.

Here’s everything you need to know.

When is the Boat Race?

The 2024 Boat Race will take place on Saturday 30 March along the River Thames in London.

How can I watch it?

Viewers in the United Kingdom can watch live on BBC One, with coverage on the channel from 2pm GMT. A livestream will be available via the iPlayer.

If you’re travelling abroad and want to watch major sporting events, you might need a VPN to unblock your streaming app. Our VPN round-up is here to help and includes deals on VPNs in the market. Viewers using a VPN need to make sure that they comply with any local regulations where they are, and also with the terms of their service provider.

What is the course?

The Boat Race course, known as the Championship Course, is four miles and 374 yards (6.8 km) long. It stretches between Putney and Mortlake on the River Thames in south west London.

The race is rowed upstream, but starts during the incoming tide to ensure that crews are rowing with the fast stream.

Who are the blue boat crews?


Oxford Women

Cambridge Women

Coached by Allan French

Coached by Paddy Ryan

Sarah Marshall (bow)

Gemma King (bow)

Ella Stadler (President)

Jo Matthews

Tessa Haining

Clare Hole

Claire Aitken

Jenna Armstrong (President)

Julia Lindsay

Carina Graf

Annie Sharp

Carys Earl

Lucy Edmunds

Iris Powell

Annie Anezakis (stroke)

Megan Lee (stroke)

Joe Gellett (cox)

Hannah Murphy (cox)


Oxford Men

Cambridge Men

Coached by Sean Bowden

Coached by Rob Baker

Saxon Stacey (bow)

Sebastien Benzecry (bow, President)

Harry Glenister

Noam Mouelle

Jelmer Bennema

Thomas Marsh

James Doran

Augustus John

Elias Kun

Kenneth Coplan

Frederick Roper

Thomas Lynch

Leonard Jenkins

Luca Ferraro

Elliot Kemp (stroke)

Matt Edge (stroke)

William Denegri (cox)

Ed Bracey (cox)

What time are the Boat Races and what is the full schedule?

The two marquee races begin at 2.46pm GMT and 3.46pm GMT respectively

Time (GMT)



River closes – Preliminary road closures in place. Hammersmith Bridge closes to cyclists and pedestrians


Festival of Rowing starts in Mortlake


Fan Zones open – Fulham and Hammersmith


Festival of Rowing Arrives in Putney


Festival of Rowing ends in Mortlake


Women’s Boat Race coin toss (Putney Embankment)


Final road closures in place


The Men’s Boat Race coin toss (Putney Embankment)


BBC broadcast starts


78th Women’s Boat Race


Osiris v Blondie Race


Isis v Goldie Boat Race


169th Men’s Boat Race


Women’s winning crew trophy presentation (Mortlake)


Men’s winning crew trophy presentation (Mortlake)


Women’s Boat Race Cox and Men’s Boat Race cox toss (Mortlake)


BBC Broadcast Ends


Hammersmith Bridge Opens to Cyclists and Pedestrians.


River Opens


Fan Zones at Fulham and Hammersmith close