Audio clip NAT025

NAT025 – (SPORTS-CAR-Indy-500)
INDIANAPOLIS. x–09s. Josef Newgarden has become the first back-to-back winner of the Indianapolis 500 since Helio Castroneves (EH’-lay-oh cass-troh-NEV’-ez) did it 22 years ago. The Tennessean passed Pato (PAH’-toh) O’Ward on the final lap of the rain-delayed race to become the first driver to win consecutive 500s since Castroneves did it for Roger Penske (PEN’-skee) in 2001 and 2002. Newgarden says he saw an opportunity to pass O’Ward on Turn 3 of the final lap and took it.
(“ clean.”) (SOURCE:The Associated Press)

TAG: O’Ward slumped his head over his steering wheel in bitter disappointment. He was trying to become the first Mexican in 108 runnings to win the Indy 500.

The Canadian Press broadcast team, The Associated Press