Buzzing on Yahoo Sports

Puck Daddy

Watch Brenden Morrow ‘head-bang’ Casey Cizikas, Kris Letang cross-check linesman (Video)

Game 4 got away from the Pittsburgh Penguins on Tuesday night, as the New York Islanders scored three straight third-period goals to win 6-4 and even their series at 2-2.

That frustration manifested itself on a few occasions during the game, such as when Brenden Morrow decided to use the ice as a wrestling turnbuckle on Casey Cizikas’s head:

So basically: Morrow = Weber; Cizikas = Zetterberg; ice = glass.

Unless of course he was simply trying to pry his stick loose. That too.

Here’s how it looked from the cheap seats, via reader Nick Colletti

There was no penalty on the play.

Meanwhile, at the end of the game, things got tense and defenseman Kris Letang took his frustrations out on … a linesman.

The end of the game featured a scrum between the teams, including a fight between Travis Hamonic and Evgeni Malkin:

Part of that scrum featured Letang doing this is a linesman.


There was no penalty given to Letang for this incident.

Keep in mind this is the NHL’s rules on the matter:

40.1 Game Misconduct - Any player who deliberately applies physical force in any manner against an official, in any manner attempts to injure an official, physically demeans, or deliberately applies physical force to an official solely for the purpose of getting free of such an official during or immediately following an altercation shall receive a game misconduct penalty. In addition, the following (40.2, 40.3, 40.4) disciplinary penalties shall apply.

40.3 Automatic Suspension – Category II - Any player who deliberately applies physical force to an official in any manner (excluding actions as set out in Category I), which physical force is applied without intent to injure, or who spits on an official,shall be automatically suspended for not less than ten (10) games.

Now, the NHL typically allows for heat of the moment incidents to pass without punishment. Please recall the Jannik Hansen cross-check on a referee during a Canucks vs. Sharks game this season. The officials didn’t list the incident on any game report; hence, the NHL didn’t act on it.

According to Elliotte Friedman: “There is no game misconduct for ‘abuse of officials’ listed on the scoresheet. That's usually the tell for any further penalty.

Follow Yahoo Canada Sports

Yahoo! Sports Authors