Patrick Kane becomes first U.S. player to win Ted Lindsay Award

Patrick Kane becomes first U.S. player to win Ted Lindsay Award

The Ted Lindsay Award is one that NHL players value, as it’s voted on by their peers rather than smelly journalists wiping complimentary popcorn butter from their keyboards.

So Patrick Kane of the Chicago Blackhawks said he was honored by winning the Lindsay after his best season in the NHL. It’s presented annually to the “Most Outstanding Player” in the NHL by members of the NHLPA, and was handed out at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas on Wednesday.

Jamie Benn of the Dallas Stars and Braden Holtby of the Washington Capitals were the other finalists.

Kane becomes the first ever U.S.-born player to receive the Ted Lindsay Award. See what happens when the demographics of the NHL shift? We start winning awards, ‘Merica!

Kane led the league in points (106) to also earn his first Art Ross Trophy. He finished first in points-per-game (1.29), first in power-play points (37), second in goals (46), tied for second in power-play goals (17), tied for second in game-winning goals (9), and ranked third in assists (60). He's the first Blackhawk to win the Lindsay and/or the Pearson.

Without question, the NHL’s most outstanding player this season.


Greg Wyshynski is a writer for Yahoo Sports. Contact him at or find him on Twitter. His book, TAKE YOUR EYE OFF THE PUCK, is available on Amazon and wherever books are sold.


Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting