Brian Campbell becomes first defenseman since 1954 to win Lady Byng

History was made in more ways than one with Brian Campbell's Lady Byng Memorial Trophy win. Aside from becoming the first defenseman to win the award since 1954 when Red Kelly of the Detroit Red Wings won for the third time, Campbell also became the first Florida Panther in franchise history to win a voted-on award.

(Dale Tallon of the Panthers fell short, losing out to Doug Armstrong of the St. Louis Blues for GM of the Year earlier in the show.)

Here's how the Professional Hockey Writers Association's vote went:

(overall points, 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th place votes)
1. Brian Campbell, FLA 582 (31-22-13-15-8)
2. Jordan Eberle, EDM 518 (18-23-23-17-11)
3. Matt Moulson, NYI 517 (13-28-26-15-16)

Campbell played all 82 games for the Panthers this season as they made the playoffs for the first time since the 1999-00 campaign. He also led all NHL players in time on-ice averaging 26:53 per game. But the stat that helped earn him the Byng was his six PIMs all season. Pretty remarkable for a defenseman who spent so much time on the ice.

Follow Sean Leahy on Twitter at @Sean_Leahy