Damn Am Canada 2011 results: dynamic dozen set to move on to December Tampa Am

September 9th through the 10th the second to the last Damn Am amateur skateboarding competition was held at the Beach Skate Park in Toronto, Canada. Although all the ams brought their A games and a dream, only the most dynamic dozen will be moving on to the Tampa Am December 1st through the 4th in Tampa, Florida. Here's a look at who those deserving dozen are:

Damn Am Canada results

Coming in at 1st place was Blind Skateboards Team member TJ Rogers. Rogers is no stranger to the Damn Am competition series, having competed in it since 2008. It is, however, the first year he has made it within the final's top five. Will Marshall, who has been known to roll with Rogers, came in 2nd place followed by Jon Cosentino at 3rd. Marshall has been competing in the Damn Am as far back as 2004 and has made it to Tampa Am five consecutive years without a 1st place win. Cosentino, on the other hand, has made it to Tampa Am twice, placing 3rd during last year's finals. Given his performance on Saturday, he could just make it to number one this year. Rounding out the top six were Hammer Skate Shop's Zack Ferguson, Tyler "Man Child" Pacheco and Matt Canadian. Ferguson is fairly new to the amateur skateboarding circuit. This was his first Damn Am appearance and he gave the crowd and his fellow competitors alike something to think about with his premium performance. He started off leading in the qualifiers and then unfortunately fell to 4th place in the finals. Kicking off the bottom six were Volcom Team member Pat Tremblay in at seventh place followed by CBMK Skatepark Team rider Ben Paterson and Hammer Skate Shop's Nolan Waller. Tremblay has made it to the Tampa Am twice so far, only making it as far as the qualifying round. The same can be said of Ben Paterson. This, however, will be Waller's first time competing at Tampa Am. Joining Waller in the "first timers" category are the remaining three members of the deserving dozen: Ty Peterson, Matt McFarlane and Chad Wilson.

Independent Best Trick results

In the Independent Best Trick Competition it was Ben Paterson who took home first place and $300 for his awe inspiring hardflip back lip on the rail. Will Marshall came in second courtesy of his flawless frontside 360 shuv down the stairs which he followed up with a hardflip and frontside flip on the rail. And pulling up the rear was Mitch Barette, who left the competition $100 richer thanks to his killer execution of a front blunt and back tail on the hubba.

My children are skateboarders and I have a history of following the sport.

More from this contributor:

Prince Edward County Gravity Fest set to kick off in Picton, Canada on Sept. 16th, 2011

Seattle, Washington gets new skatepark Sept. 17th

etnies 2011 Am Getting Paid Skate contest set to kickoff in Montreal Sept. 23rd

RVCA skate demo and barbecue to be held Sept. 24th, 2011 in Brea, California

Note: This article was written by a Yahoo! contributor. Sign up here to start publishing your own sports content.

Updated Monday, Sep 12, 2011