Edmonton Oilers

 | 47-26-9
  • Goals For
    243 GF
  • Goals Against
    207 GA
  • Power Play %
    22.9 PP%
  • Penalty Kill %
    80.7 PK%
  • Penalty Mins
    738 PIM
  • Metro

    NHL 100: The origin, evolution and adventures of the iconic Stanley Cup

    It's the grande dame of sports trophies, the oldest contested prize in North American athletics. The Stanley Cup will soon once again be awarded to hockey's top team, extending a tradition that dates back to 1893. The Cup began as a silver bowl, purchased by Canada's then governor-general Lord Stanley of Preston, whose family was quite taken with the nascent sport, to give amateur teams something to strive for. As leagues and professional teams took over, the Cup became a prize between two leagues and eventually exclusively by the NHL starting in 1926. Only twice has failed to be awarded: in 1919 due to Spanish flu outbreak, and 2005 after a contract impasse between the NHL players and owners

  • Scotty Bowman: Winning back-to-back Stanley Cups 'tougher to do now'
    The Canadian Press5 hours ago

    Scotty Bowman: Winning back-to-back Stanley Cups 'tougher to do now'

    Scotty Bowman won back-to-back Stanley Cups more than once in an illustrious career behind the bench, but the 83-year-old wonders now how feasible it is in today's NHL. Not one team has gone back-to-back in the salary cap era, with Sidney Crosby's Pittsburgh Penguins now looking to become the first. Bowman guided the last repeat winner in Detroit with the Red Wings winning by sweeps in 1997 and 1998. He also helped the Mario Lemieux-led Penguins complete a back-to-back set of championships when he took over for Bob Johnson — who passed away from cancer — for the 1991-92 season and before that, drove the Montreal Canadiens to four straight crowns in the late '70s.

  • Reuters

    List of National Hockey League champions

    (Reuters) - List of National Hockey League champions: 2016 - Pittsburgh Penguins def. San Jose Sharks 4-2 2015 - Chicago Blackhawks def. Tampa Bay Lightning 4-2 2014 - Los Angeles Kings def. New York Rangers 4-1 2013 - Chicago Blackhawks def. Boston Bruins 4-2 2012 - Los Angeles Kings def. New Jersey Devils 4-2 2011 - Boston Bruins def. Vancouver Canucks 4-3 2010 - Chicago Blackhawks def. Philadelphia Flyers 4-2 2009 - Pittsburgh Penguins def. Detroit Red Wings 4-3 2008 - Detroit Red Wings def. Pittsburgh Penguins 4-2 2007 - Anaheim Ducks def. Ottawa Senators 4-1 2006 - Carolina Hurricanes ...