Puck Daddy - NHL

Once again, a referee's mind has ended a play before his whistle does. Once again, an NHL team has a legitimate gripe that it was jobbed out of a goal by the "intent to blow rule."

That's Scott Gomez(notes), scoring what would have been the game-tying goal at 15:08 of the third period of Thursday night's Montreal Canadiens game, only to have referee Chris Lee(notes) rule the play was dead. The Pittsburgh Penguins defeated the Canadiens, 3-2, to snap their three-game winning streak.

(Incidentally, Chris Lee's Wikipedia page has already been edited by disgruntled fans.)

Again, watch the replay. Marc-Andre Fleury(notes) didn't have the puck frozen, and the whistle actually blows as the puck is rebounding off the back of the cage. We've now had this nonsense in Montreal, in Carolina, egregiously in Detroit and a few other cities within the first two and a half months of the season.

There's no logical reason why there shouldn't be a mechanism to overturn completely blown calls that result in goals kept off the board. Making sure good goals count is why we have replay in the first place; so use it.

Stick tap to HaraniT on Twitter for the tip.

Related Articles

Puck Daddy

Add to My Yahoo RSS

Related Photo Gallery

Y! Sports Blog