Tua Tagovailoa wins Maxwell Award while Kyler Murray takes Davey O'Brien Award

Yahoo Sports

We have the ingredients for a very close Heisman vote on Saturday.

Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa won the Maxwell Award on Thursday night. It goes to the player of the year. He beat out Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray and West Virginia’s Will Grier for the award. Tagovailoa also won the Walter Camp Award, another award that goes to the best player in the country.

Scroll to continue with content

While Tagovailoa was voted the best player, he didn’t win best quarterback. Murray took home the Davey O’Brien Award, which goes to the best quarterback. He beat out Tagovailoa and Washington State’s Gardner Minshew. Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield won the Davey O’Brien and Maxwell awards on his way to the 2017 Heisman Trophy.

Murray, Tagovailoa and Ohio State’s Dwayne Haskins are the three finalists for the Heisman Trophy. It will be given out Saturday night in New York City. Tagovailoa has thrown for 3,353 yards, 37 touchdowns to four interceptions and has completed nearly 68 percent of his passes. Murray has thrown for 4,053 yards and 40 touchdowns while rushing for over 800 yards and 11 touchdowns. Murray’s 51 combined touchdowns are the most of anyone in college football.

The Walter Camp winner has won the Heisman the last five seasons. The last Maxwell/Davey O’Brien split among quarterbacks came in 2016 when Lamar Jackson won the Maxwell Award and Deshaun Watson won the Davey O’Brien Award. Jackson won the Heisman that season.

Tagovailoa has been the presumptive favorite for the Heisman throughout the season. But his left ankle injury and poor performance in the SEC championship game and Murray’s great Big 12 championship game performance has made the Oklahoma QB the sportsbook favorite heading into Saturday night.

Award winners

Maxwell Award (player of the year): Tua Tagovailoa, QB, Alabama
• Davey O’Brien Award (best quarterback): Kyler Murray, QB, Oklahoma
• Doak Walker Award (best running back): Jonathan Taylor, RB, Wisconsin
• Lou Groza Award (best kicker): Andre Szmyt, K, Syracuse
Ray Guy Award (best punter): Braden Mann, P, Texas A&M
John Mackey Award (best tight end): T.J. Hockenson, Iowa
Biletnikoff Award (best receiver): Jerry Jeudy, WR, Alabama
Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back): Deandre Baker, CB, Georgia
• Bednarik Award: (best defensive player): Josh Allen, DE, Kentucky
• Bronko Nagurski Award (best defensive lineman): Josh Allen, DE, Kentucky
• Butkus Award (best linebacker): Devin White, LB, LSU
• Outland Award (best interior lineman): Quinnen Williams, DL, Alabama
• Rimington Award (best center): Garrett Bradbury, C, NC State
Walter Camp Award (best player): Tua Tagovailoa, QB, Alabama
Broyles Award (best assistant coach): Mike Locksley, Alabama

– – – – – – –

Nick Bromberg is a writer for Yahoo Sports.

More from Yahoo Sports:
NFL scolded by Cowboys’ Elliott for Salvation Army fine
Cleveland police add new wrinkle to KareemHunt case
Chiefs love how QB addressed Hunt scandal
Bus carrying HS hoops team in fatal wrong-way collision

What to Read Next