Sens defenceman Erik Karlsson among Norris Trophy finalists


The NHL announced the Norris Trophy finalists on Friday evening with Ottawa Senators defenceman Erik Karlsson among the trio of players named.

Karlsson, a two-time Norris winner as the league's top blue-liner, is joined by Brent Burns of the San Jose Sharks and Victor Hedman of the Tampa Bay Lightning.

Karlsson finished off another fine season, scoring 17 goals and posting 71 points.

It's the fourth nomination for the Swede, who won the award in 2012 and 2015.

Burns finished third in Norris voting last season and is coming off another highly productive campaign with the Sharks. The offensive blue-liner helped propel his team to the playoffs by putting up 29 goals and 47 assists to lead all Norris finalists with 76 points. 

Hedman registered 72 points this season for the club, including 56 assists. Hedman finished seventh in Norris voting last season.

The 2016 Norris Trophy race saw Karlsson place second in voting behind winner Drew Doughty of the Los Angeles Kings.

Karlsson and the Senators are currently preparing for a crucial Game 5 tonight against the Boston Bruins in which they have a chance to eliminate the Bruins after going up 3-1 in the first-round series.

What to Read Next