Was Real Madrid's controversial penalty vs. Juventus the correct call?

Real Madrid’s Lucas Vazquez collapses as Juventus’ <a class="link rapid-noclick-resp" href="/soccer/players/372607/" data-ylk="slk:Medhi Benatia">Medhi Benatia</a> attempts to win the ball in the third minute of stoppage time. Referee <a class="link rapid-noclick-resp" href="/ncaaf/players/251093/" data-ylk="slk:Michael Oliver">Michael Oliver</a> gave a penalty. (Getty)
Real Madrid’s Lucas Vazquez collapses as Juventus’ Medhi Benatia attempts to win the ball in the third minute of stoppage time. Referee Michael Oliver gave a penalty. (Getty)

Real Madrid is moving on the Champions League semifinals. But not without a scare. And not without controversy.

Los Blancos blew a 3-0 first-leg lead to Juventus, and appeared to be headed for extra time at the Santiago Bernabeu when Cristiano Ronaldo, in the third of three minutes of second-half stoppage time, rose for a header at the back post. He knocked it down to Lucas Vazquez, free in the center of the penalty box, eight yards from goal, the game at his mercy. And Vazquez tumbled to the turf.

Or was he sent tumbling by Juventus’ Medhi Benatia? That’s what referee Michael Oliver decided. Oliver pointed to the penalty spot.


After minutes of protests, a Gianluigi Buffon red card, and general chaos, Ronaldo stepped up and converted. But in the aftermath of the drama, all eyes remained on Oliver and the controversial call.

Before we take a side and answer the question of whether or not Oliver was correct, it’s only fair to point out just how difficult a decision this is. If one thing is clear, it’s that the call would not have been overturned by video review. It was not a “clear and obvious error.” Whether Oliver whistled or waved away appeals, he would have been crucified. He would have been surrounded by furious players. He sent off Buffon; he might have instead had to send off a Real Madrid player or coach if he had chosen the other side.

There’s no right answer to whether or not it was a penalty. It is, though, very clear why Oliver would give it. Benatia clearly comes from behind Vazquez and makes an attempt to play the ball. Vazquez falls over. From Oliver’s position – which may have obstructed his view of the play – Benatia made enough contact to warrant a foul.

Michael Oliver’s view might have been obstructed when he awarded Real Madrid a penalty for Medhi Benatia’s challenge on Lucas Vazquez. (Screenshot: Fox Soccer)
Michael Oliver’s view might have been obstructed when he awarded Real Madrid a penalty for Medhi Benatia’s challenge on Lucas Vazquez. (Screenshot: Fox Soccer)

The question is how much contact there was. It doesn’t really matter that Benatia ultimately got a slight touch to the ball with his foot. If his knee or leg clattered into Vazquez’s back or shoulder first, or even simultaneously, it’s a penalty.

But was Vazquez already going down before the challenge came? He appeared to sense contact coming. Was there really that much in the end? Juventus players and fans will argue there wasn’t.

Replays are inconclusive – which shows just how difficult a call it was. The assistant referee on the goal line wasn’t in position to see the contact from behind, either. He was staring straight at Vazquez’s front side.

(Original video: Fox Sports 1)
(Original video: Fox Sports 1)

If Vazquez did dive, or at least accentuate the contact, he did so with perfect timing. He fell to the ground just as Benatia arrived on his back, just before the ball arrives at his chest. His collapse wasn’t sudden; it was somewhat slow, which suggests he might have begun to fall before the contact. But that doesn’t mean there wasn’t contact, and that doesn’t mean it wasn’t a penalty.

So the answer? Again, it’s inconclusive.

But there was certainly some contact between Benatia and Vazquez. Because Vazquez was in position to play the ball, and because the contact came before either he or Benatia did play the ball, Oliver’s decision was probably correct. There’s no way to prove Vazquez embellished or exaggerated the contact. It was a heartbreaking way for Juventus to lose the game. But just because it was a bold call from Oliver, doesn’t mean it was the incorrect one.

– – – – – – –

Henry Bushnell covers global soccer, and occasionally other ball games, for Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Question? Comment? Email him at henrydbushnell@gmail.com or follow him on Twitter @HenryBushnell.

More soccer from Yahoo Sports:
Barcelona’s Champions League collapse was years in the making
A fan’s oral history of the USMNT’s nightmare in Trinidad
Why PSG is reportedly in Financial Fair Play trouble
Premier League DARTS: Breaking down a wild Manchester Derby

What to Read Next