Kansas election results: See the winners in the state House primary races for your district

Editor’s note: The election results graphics on this page will be continuously updating as votes across the state are counted. Check back here throughout the night to see the latest. Want to have results delivered to your inbox at the end of the night? Sign up for our free politics newsletter.

In the Kansas City area, we are watching two races with controversial incumbents.

In District 5 — covering parts of Douglas, Franklin, Johnson and Miami counties — Rep. Mark Samsel is running for reelection in the Republican primary. He was placed on probation for a year after he was arrested during a mental health crisis while substitute teaching in Wellsville, but has since earned endorsements from education groups. Samsel faces Carrie Barth, a Baldwin City conservative who has raised twice as much money during the campaign. There is no Democratic candidate running for the seat.

In Eastern Wyandotte County’s District 37, Rep. Aaron Coleman is facing two challengers, Faith Rivera and Melissa Oropeza, in the Democratic primary. Coleman has been embroiled in controversy, with a history of abusive behavior, and, more recently, two arrests. The primary winner will go on to face Diana Whittington, the lone Republican candidate, in the general election.

State representatives are lawmakers responsible for drafting and voting on legislation. They also help create the state budget and create legislation that helps regulate state agencies. There are 125 state representatives in the Kansas House, each serving a two year term at a time. If you don’t know your district, look here.

Kansas State House Results:

More live results and coverage: