Lil Peep’s Estate Will Drop Rapper’s ‘Last Cohesive’ Body of Work With ILoveMakonnen

ilovemakonnen-lil-peep - Credit: Richard Stilwell*
ilovemakonnen-lil-peep - Credit: Richard Stilwell*

A posthumous album from Lil Peep is coming next week. On Friday, the late rapper’s estate released the single “November,” and his mother Liza Womack announced that Diamonds will be released Sept. 8.

Womack said that the upcoming record is Lil Peep’s “last cohesive full body of work” made with iLoveMakonnen.

More from Rolling Stone

“Lil Peep and Makonnen completed the first fifteen of what would be twenty-one songs and would later be known as the album Diamonds in Los Angeles, exactly 6 years ago in August of 2017. Gus was absolutely thrilled about working with Makonnen,” she said in a statement. “When he came home in August, he played those songs for us — over and over. Gus was incredibly proud of those songs.”

Along with the first single, Lil Peep’s estate released a 21-minute documentary about the album’s creation, featuring unseen photographs and videos with Peep.

The LP will comprise 21 tracks, and its album artwork sees Lil Peep looking up at iLoveMakonnen, who sits behind a piano. Among the songs on the album are “IDGAF 2,” “Hypnotized,” “Nasty Names,” and “Hocus Pocus.”

“Gus knew there was more music to make, and he knew he had limited time due to his upcoming fall tour, so he organized his next chunk of studio time so he could meet Makonnen in London, where they made the last batch of songs,” Womack added. “We all waited with anticipation for the release of this album. Then Gus passed away.”

“I knew I had to do everything I could to help get this album released—and released the way Gus and Makonnen had made it,” she continued.

Womack thanked Makonnen for his “patience, grace and fortitude” while re-assembling the team to make the project, describing their work as an “amazing job.”

“Gus would be so proud to know that this album had come out,” she ended her note. “He would be grateful to his friends for taking the time and care to do it just right.”

The news of the new record comes several months after Lil Peep’s family settled a multimillion-dollar wrongful death lawsuit with Peep’s label First Access Entertainment.  Though terms of the settlement are unavailable, a post on the late rapper’s Instagram informed fans that “his music will be in the care of his mother and brother, and no one else.”

“It is a solemn moment for us as we reflect on the struggles of the past five-plus years.  We are grateful to all of the fans, friends, professionals, and family who stood by us,” the post read at the time, alongside a photo of Peep with his mother and brother. “We were all permanently changed by Gus’s death. We know he should be here in the world with all of us, creating — making whatever he was inspired to make.”

Lil Peep, whose real name was Gustav Elijah Ahr, died on a tour bus in Arizona on Nov. 15, 2017 after ingesting a deadly cocktail of fentanyl and Xanax, authorities said.

Diamonds Track List:

  1. “Smokin’”

  2. “IDGAF 2”

  3. “Favorite Drug”

  4. “Hypnotized”

  5. “Ballin’”

  6. “Really Loving You”

  7. “November”

  8. “Guiltiness”

  9. “Prove My Love”

  10. “Sidelines”

  11. “I’ve Been Waiting (OG Version)”

  12. “Rent To Pay”

  13. “I Sell Cocaine”

  14. “That Juice”

  15. “Twisted”

  16. “Nasty Names”

  17. “Kiss Me”

  18. “Cry Baby 2”

  19. “Hocus Pocus”

  20. “Cruise With You”

  21. “Diamond Piano Freestyle (Outro)”

Best of Rolling Stone

Click here to read the full article.