Kyle Larson wins All-Star Race pole

(Getty Images)
(Getty Images)

The Cup Series points leader is starting first in Saturday night’s All-Star Race.

Kyle Larson grabbed the pole by posting the fastest time in Friday’s qualifying session. While the session is two rounds, All-Star qualifying is quite different than regular qualifying. Instead of counting the fastest lap, drivers’ times are calculated over a three-lap average that includes a pit stop where the pit road speed limit isn’t enforced.

Kyle Busch will start second while Kevin Harvick starts third.

Saturday night is Larson’s second All-Star Race. In his first race last year he was passed late by Joey Logano for the race win.

Sixteen drivers made qualifying runs for Saturday’s race. To be automatically eligible, drivers must have previously won an All-Star Race or won a Cup Series race in 2016 or 2017. Four more drivers will be added to the field Saturday through the qualifying race. Twenty-four drivers who don’t meet the automatic eligibility criteria will race a three-stage race before the All-Star Race. The winners of each stage will advance to the All-Star Race while the final starter will be determined via a popularity contest.

Here’s how the field will line up:
1. Kyle Larson
2. Kyle Busch
3. Kevin Harvick
4. Jimmie Johnson
5. Kurt Busch
6. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
7. Brad Keselowski
8. Matt Kenseth
9. Denny Hamlin
10. Jamie McMurray
11. Chris Buescher
12. Joey Logano
13. Kasey Kahne
14. Martin Truex Jr.
15. Ryan Newman
16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

– – – – – – –

Nick Bromberg is the editor of Dr. Saturday and From the Marbles on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!

What to Read Next