Incumbent Rashpal Bajwa gets another two-year term as Cricket Canada president

·1 min read

Incumbent Rashpal Bajwa has been re-elected president of Cricket Canada.

Vancouver's Bajwa was acclaimed on the weekend at Cricket Canada’s annual general meeting after Ranjit Chaudhri, the president of the Hamilton and District Cricket League who was his only challenger, dropped out of the running.

A former president of Cricket B.C., Bajwa was elected Cricket Canada’s vice-president in 2016, moving up to president in 2020 for his initial two-year term.

Also re-elected were Farhan Khan as Cricket Canada secretary and Amjad Bajwa as director-at-large. Rohit Aggarwal was also elected a director-at-large for a first term.

The general meeting also saw plans for a new high-performance league and a revamped domestic structure to include a Canada National T20 tournament.


This report by The Canadian Press was first published May 11, 2022.

The Canadian Press

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting