Ethan Hawke, Sterlin Harjo FX Pilot Sets Main Cast, Including Keith David, Kyle Maclachlan, Jeanne Tripplehorn, Tim Blake Nelson

Sterlin Harjo’s FX drama pilot starring Ethan Hawke has set its main cast, Variety has learned.

The new cast members are: Keith David (“The Princess and the Frog,” “Greenleaf”), Siena East (“The Sex Lives of College Girls”), Jeanne Tripplehorn (“The Terminal List,” “Mrs. America”), Tim Blake Nelson (“Watchmen,” “The Ballad of Buster Scruggs”), Scott Shepherd (“The Last of Us,” “Killers of the Flower Moon”), Tracy Letts (“Winning Time: Rise of the Lakers Dynasty,” “Lady Bird”), Kyle Maclachlan (“Twin Peaks,” upcoming “Fallout”), and Macon Blair (“Reservation Dogs,” “I Care A Lot”).

More from Variety

The pilot, which was ordered in February, is titled “The Sensitive Kind.” Exact plot details are being kept under wraps aside from the fact it is described as a “Tulsa noir about a guy (Hawke) who knows too much.” Further character details for the new cast members are also being kept under wraps.

Harjo created the project and will also serve as director and executive producer. Hawke will executive produce in addition to starring, with Garret Basch also executive producing. FX Studios, where Harjo is under an overall deal, will produce.

The pilot marks a reunion for Harjo and Hawke. Hawke appeared in the penultimate episode of Harjo’s FX series “Reservation Dogs.” Blair also previously appeared in multiple episodes of “Reservation Dogs.” The series, which followed the lives of four Indigenous teenagers on a reservation in Oklahoma, ran for three critically-acclaimed seasons at FX. The third and final season aired in late 2023. It received numerous accolades throughout its run, including a Golden Globe nomination for best television series – musical or comedy.

Best of Variety

Sign up for Variety’s Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.