Edinburgh name 30-man touring South African squad

Sean Everitt has named a 30-man Edinburgh squad for their two-week trip to South Africa as they take on the Stormers and the Sharks in the URC.

The trip also sees Everitt go up against his former side Sharks for the first time, having been connected to the Durban-based side since 2008.

“We’re really excited for the challenge of this tour, taking on two of South Africa’s biggest sides on their own turf," Everitt said.

“As a team, we’ve spoken about the physicality and belief needed to win in Cape Town and Durban – they are the non-negotiables. It’s now about showing the fight and resilience that has lifted us to fourth place in the Championship.

Luke Crosbie, Darcy Graham, Robin Hislop, Harry Paterson, Nathan Sweeney and Glen Young remain unavailable and have not travelled, with Ali Price remaining in Scotland for the birth of his child.

Including international players, who will travel depending on availability, there are six South African-born players in the squad.

Forwards: Boan Venter, Dave Cherry, Patrick Harrison, Javan Sebastian, Luan de Bruin, WP Nel, Jamie Hodgson, Marshall Sykes, Connor Boyle, Tom Dodd, Bill Mata, Ben Muncaster, Hamish Watson.

Backs: Charlie Shiel, Ben Vellacott, Cammy Scott, Mark Bennett, Matt Currie, Chris Dean, James Lang, Emiliano Boffelli, Wes Goosen, Jake Henry.

Internationalists: Pierre Schoeman, Ewan Ashman, Grant Gilchrist, Sam Skinner, Jamie Ritchie, Ben Healy, Duhan van der Merwe.