Dallas Cowboys continue roster shuffle: re-sign two players, announce practice squad

The Dallas Cowboys continued the process of lining up their personnel for 2023 with adjustments to the active roster and signings to the practice squad.

Cornerback Nahshon Wright (ankle) and tackle Matt Waletzo (shoulder) were moved to injured reserve as expected, sidelining them for the first four games of the seasons.

The team re-signed deep snapper Trent Sieg and backup tackle Chuma Edoga.

The Cowboys signed the following players to the practice squad: tackle Earl Bostick, cornerback Josh Butler, wide receiver Jalen Cropper, running back Malik Davis, tight end Princeton Fant, cornerback C.J. Goodwin, center Brock Hoffman, linebacker Malik Jefferson, defensive end Durrell Johnson, wide receiver Tyron Johnson, tight end Sean McKeon, safety Sheldrick Redwine, tackle Alex Taylor-Prioleau and defensive end Tyrus Wheat.

It wasn’t all good news for the Cowboys as four players they wanted to bring back to the practice squad joined other teams.

Defensive end Isaiah Land was claimed off waivers by the Indianapolis Colts and will be on their 53-man roster.

It was always risky for the Cowboys cut Land, who was among the league leaders in the preseason in quarterback pressures. But the team is deep with edge rusher.

Quarterback Will Grier signed with Cincinnati Bengals practice squad. The Cowboys wanted to keep him as the fourth quarterback on the practice squad. Grier will be No. 3 with the Bengals.

Linebacker Jabril Cox opted for a fresh start and signed with Washington Commanders practice squad rather than returning to Dallas.

The same is true with receiver Dennis Houston, an opening starter for the Cowboys in 2022 who chose to join the New York Giants practice after being cut no Tuesday.