Edmonton Oilers captain Connor McDavid wins second career Hart Trophy

·1 min read

Edmonton Oilers captain Connor McDavid has won the Hart Trophy for the 2020-21 season.

It's the second time McDavid has won the annual award given out the the NHL's most valuable player.

Toronto centre Auston Matthews and Colorado forward Nathan MacKinnon were the other finalists for the award.

McDavid dominated the 2020-21 scoring race with 105 points (33 goals, 72 assists) in 56 games -- 21 more points than Oilers teammate Leon Draisaitl, who won the award last year.

The 24-year-old from Newmarket, Ont., -- who won the Hart Trophy in 2016-17 and finished third in voting in 2018-19 -- is the fifth player in NHL history to capture the award multiple times before his 25th birthday after Wayne Gretzky (6x), Bobby Orr (3x), Gordie Howe (2x) and Alexander Ovechkin (2x).

McDavid's win also makes the Oilers the first team with different Hart Trophy winners in consecutive seasons since the Boston Bruins in 1968-69 (Phil Esposito) and 1969-70 (Bobby Orr).

McDavid also won the Ted Lindsay Award, awarded to the league's most outstanding player as voted on by members of the NHL Players' Association, for the third time in his career.

In other awards, Vegas Golden Knights netminder Marc-Andre Fleury won the Vezina Trophy as top goaltender, Adam Fox of New York Rangers took the Norris Trophy as top defenceman and Minnesota Wild forward Kirill Kaprizov won the Calder Trophy as top rookie.

The Canadian Press

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting