Chrissy Teigen, Olivia Wilde, Meena Harris and More Will Be Celebrity Servers for One Night to Support Federal Minimum Wage Efforts (EXCLUSIVE)

Chrissy Teigen, Olivia Wilde and Meena Harris are among the celebrities set to join One Fair Wage’s “Server for an Hour” event on Sept. 21.

One Fair Wage is a leading organization fighting to increase the minimum wage nationwide with a special focus on the restaurant industry. The federal minimum wage for tipped workers has been $2.13 an hour for over 50 years.

More from Variety

In an effort to support One Fair Wage’s mission to increase the minimum wage, a slew of A-listers will act as servers this week at a fundraising dinner, held at Gracias Madre in West Hollywood.

Teigen will serve as the event chair. In a statement, she tells Variety, “I am beyond excited to host the ‘Server for an Hour’ fundraiser, a cause incredibly close to my heart. Supporting fair wages for service workers is so important, not only because it’s the right thing to do, but also because of its ripple effect on families and communities. Food has always been a way to bring people together, and by advocating for fair wages, we acknowledge the importance and value of those in the service industry.”

The celebrities who will don aprons and serve guests include Teigen, Jamie Lee Curtis, Sarah Paulson, Olivia Wilde, Erika Alexander, Darryl Hannah and Natasha Rothwell.

One Fair Wage is a national group of restaurant workers and owners, which works to raise wages for low-income workers and end low pay for tipped workers. This week’s event will support the organization’s goal to raise wages in states like Michigan, Ohio and Arizona on the 2024 ballot.

“Together we can bring 5 million low-wage workers to the polls and give them the opportunity to increase their wages at the ballot box,” One Fair Wage states in their announcement of the fundraiser.

Meena Harris, who is the niece of vice president Kamala Harris, will emcee the night and is one of the event hosts.

Other hosts include Roy Bahat, Adrienne Becker, Tre Borden, Jordan Brown, Siena Chiang, Tel Ganesan, Dwayne Hall, Meena Harris, Lynn Hirshfield, Kiran Jain, Anu Khosla, Matt Rutler, Frank Smith, Nika Soon-Shiong, Andy Spahn, Nancy Stephens and Participant.

Best of Variety

Sign up for Variety’s Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Click here to read the full article.