Canadian Football Hall of Fame to enshrine 2020 and 2021 classes next year

·1 min read

TORONTO — The Canadian Football Hall of Fame will formally enshrine its 2020 and 2021 classes in spring 2022, the CFL said Tuesday.

Plans to hold the induction ceremony as part of the festivities leading into this year's Grey Cup in Hamilton, which is also the site of the Canadian Football Hall of Fame and Museum, were cancelled due to health and safety concerns caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The CFL said in a release the date of the 2020 and 2021 induction ceremony at Hamilton's Tim Hortons Field will be announced next year.

The class of 2020 includes offensive linemen Clyde Brock and Freddie Childress and quarterbacks Henry Burris and Greg Vavra in the players category, and former Calgary Stampeders head coach and current president and general manager John Hufnagel and former Saint Mary’s University coach and athletic director Larry Uteck (posthumously) in the builder category.

The class of 2021 includes defensive linemen Will Johnson and Mike Walker, wide receiver Nik Lewis and defensive backs Orlondo Steinauer and Don Wilson in the player category and former Montreal Alouettes head coach Marv Levy and former CFL commissioner Doug Mitchell in the builder category.

“Moving the Hall of Fame induction to next spring will allow the Canadian football community to come together and celebrate the achievements of these incredible individuals,” Greg Dick, interim CFHOF executive director, said in a release.

"The induction ceremony simply wouldn’t be the same without the inductees’ families and our wonderful fans by our sides to properly honour the tremendous achievements and lasting legacies of these gentlemen."

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Nov. 2, 2021.

The Canadian Press

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting