What's buzzing:

Puck Daddy

How Ryan O’Reilly won the 2014 Lady Byng Trophy

Greg Wyshynski
Puck Daddy

View photo

LAS VEGAS, NV - JUNE 23: Ryan O'Reilly of the Colorado Avalanche attends the Nominee Media Availability prior to the 2014 NHL Awards on June 23, 2014 in Las Vegas, Nevada. The NHL Awards will take place at the Encore Theater on June 24, 2014. (Photo by Dave Sandford/NHLI via Getty Images)

Ryan O’Reilly of the Colorado Avalanche won the 2014 Lady Byng Trophy, which is given annually to the guy with the fewest penalty minutes …er, we mean, "to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability," as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association. 

O’Reilly’s margin of victory here was rather ridiculous: He had 1,181 points to 358 from Marty St. Louis of the New York Rangers, who was second. In third was Patrick Marleau with 323.

From the NHL:

O'Reilly tallied a career-high 64 points as the resurgent Avalanche captured the Central Division title and tied a franchise record with 52 victories. He led the club in goals (28), power-play goals (nine) and game-winners (six-tied), and led the NHL in takeaways (83) for the second time in the past three seasons. O'Reilly was flagged for just one minor penalty all season, joining Butch Goring (1977-78, Los Angeles) as the only players ever to receive two or fewer PIM over 80 or more games.

Here’s the voting from the writers:

Pts. 1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th
1. Ryan O'Reilly, COL 1181 (110-5-8-1-3)
2. Martin St. Louis, NYR 358 (4-20-27-11-10)
3. Patrick Marleau, SJ 323 (3-15-23-21-10)
4. Tyler Seguin, DAL 289 (2-23-15-7-12)
5. Frans Nielsen, NYI 182 (1-15-6-9-10)
6. Marcus Johansson, WSH 128 (1-7-7-9-7)
7. Teemu Selanne, ANA 115 (5-4-4-4-5)
8. Matt Duchene, COL 104 (1-3-8-9-6)
9. Daniel Alfredsson, DET 97 (1-5-6-6-4)
10. Anze Kopitar, LA 61 (2-4-1-2-2)
11. David Krejci, BOS 57 (0-4-2-5-4)
12. Jason Pominville, MIN 51 (0-2-3-4-10)
13. Patrice Bergeron, BOS 42 (0-4-2-1-1)
14. Patrick Kane, CHI 39 (0-1-2-6-4)
15. Jordan Eberle, EDM 34 (0-3-1-2-2)
16. Ben Smith, CHI 33 (0-2-3-1-1)
17. Jaromir Jagr, NJ 30 (2-0-2-0-0)
18. Pavel Datsyuk, DET 29 (0-3-0-2-2)
19. Duncan Keith, CHI 25 (0-3-0-1-1)
20. Marc-Edouard Vlasic, SJ 23 (1-1-1-0-1)

Our ballot is here.

No idea how a guy who bolted from his team in-season gets nominated for a sportsmanship award. At least O’Reilly was a restricted free agent when he tried to leave for Calgary …


Somewhere, a Sedin weeps. 






View Comments (9)
  • Klingberg scores in overtime as Stars topple Vancouver Canucks 4-3

    Klingberg scores in overtime as Stars topple Vancouver Canucks 4-3

    The Vancouver Canucks missed an opportunity to pick up two points on Saturday. John Klingberg scored the winning goal 4:13 into overtime as the Dallas Stars edged Vancouver 4-3, spoiling a late comeback from the Canucks. "You have to get positives … More »

    The Canadian Press - 5 hours ago
  • Klingberg lifts Stars past Canucks in OT

    Klingberg lifts Stars past Canucks in OT

    John Klingberg scored 4:13 into overtime as the Dallas Stars edged the Vancouver Canucks 4-3 on Saturday night. Jamie Benn, Patrick Eaves, and Tyler Seguin scored in regulation for the Stars, while Kari Lehtonen made 32 saves. Eddie Lack stopped … More »

    AP - Sports - 6 hours ago
  • NCAA Hockey: More Boston magic; RIT pulls off massive upset

    NCAA Hockey: More Boston magic; RIT pulls off massive upset

    If BU has even the remotest chance of coming back in a game, its almost inhuman ability to dominate the third period all but assures that it will. … More »

    Puck Daddy - 7 hours ago
  • Panthers-Senators Preview

    While the Ottawa Senators hope to bounce back in their quest for a playoff berth, the Florida Panthers are running out of chances in their bid to qualify for only the third time in 17 seasons. With Andrew Hammond's status again uncertain, the … More »

    AP - Sports - 7 hours ago
  • WHL Roundup: Helewka scores two as Chiefs beat Silvertips to even series at one

    EVERETT, Wash. - Adam Helewka had a pair of goals in the first period as the Spokane Chiefs evened their first-round playoff series by downing the Everett Silvertips 6-2 in Game 2 on Saturday night in Western Hockey League action. … More »

    The Canadian Press - 7 hours ago