The NFL announces AFC, NFC Pro Bowl rosters

Brian McIntyre
Shutdown Corner

Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning continues to pad his resume for Most Valuable Player and Comeback Player of the Year awards by being named the starter for his 12th trip to the Pro Bowl.

After missing the entire 2011 season following multiple neck surgeries, Manning has completed 377-of-544 pass attempts for 4,355 yards with 34 touchdowns and 11 interceptions for the AFC West champion Broncos, who have won 10 straight games entering Week 17. Manning leads the AFC in passing yards and passer rating (103.7) and earned the starting nod ahead of New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady, who leads the AFC in passing yards (4,543) and was named to his eighth Pro Bowl. Rounding out the AFC quarterbacks is Houston Texans quarterback Matt Schaub.

As the rosters are currently constructed, the AFC will have an edge in experience as just seven players in that conference will be playing in their first Pro Bowl. Meanwhile, the NFC will have 17 players appearing in their first Pro Bowl.

On the NFC side, Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers was named the starter for the second time in his three Pro Bowl nods. Rodgers leads the NFL with a passer rating of 106.2. Joining Rodgers in Hawaii will be Matt Ryan of the Atlanta Falcons and Washington Redskins first round quarterback Robert Griffin, one of two rookies to make the Pro Bowl.

The San Francisco 49ers placed a league-high nine players on the team, closely followed by the Houston Texans, who had eight players selected to participate on the AFC squad. Eight teams did not a single player in the Pro Bowl. Teams shut out this season were the Buffalo Bills, Carolina Panthers, Jacksonville Jaguars, Oakland Raiders Philadelphia Eagles, San Diego Chargers, St. Louis Rams and Tennessee Titans. In one of the biggest surprises of the voting, the 2-13 Kansas City Chiefs placed FIVE (5) players on the AFC's Pro Bowl roster.

AFC Pro Bowl rosters (starters in italics)


Quarterbacks: Peyton Manning, Denver; Tom Brady, New England and Matt Schaub, Houston
Running backs: Arian Foster, Houston; Jamaal Charles, Kansas City and Ray Rice, Baltimore
Fullback: Vonta Leach, Baltimore
Wide receivers: A.J. Green, Cincinnati and Andre Johnson, Houston; Reggie Wayne, Indianapolis and Wes Welker, New England
Tight ends: Rob Gronkowski, New England; Heath Miller, Pittsburgh
Offensive tackle: Duane Brown, Houston and Joe Thomas, Cleveland; Ryan Clady, Denver
Offensive guard: Logan Mankins, New England and Marshal Yanda, Baltimore; Wade Smith, Houston
Center: Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh; Chris Myers, Houston


Defensive ends: J.J. Watt, Houston and Cameron Wake, Miami; Elvis Dumervil, Denver
Defensive tackles: Geno Atkins, Cincinnati and Vince Wilfork, New England; Haloti Ngata, Baltimore
Outside linebackers: Von Miller, Denver and Tamba Hali, Kansas City; Robert Mathis, Indianapolis
Inside linebackers: Jerod Mayo, New England; Derrick Johnson, Kansas City
Cornerbacks: Champ Bailey, Denver and Johnathan Joseph, Houston; Antonio Cromartie, NY Jets
Free safety: Ed Reed, Baltimore
Strong safety: Eric Berry, Kansas City; LaRon Landry, NY Jets

Special Teams

Punter: Dustin Colquitt, Kansas City
Kicker.: Phil Dawson, Cleveland
Return specialist: Jacoby Jones, Baltimore
Special teamer: Matthew Slater, New England

NFC Pro Bowl rosters (starters in italics)


Quarterback: Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay; Matt Ryan, Atlanta and Robert Griffin, Washington
Running backs: Adrian Peterson, Minnesota: Marshawn Lynch, Seattle and Frank Gore, San Francisco
Fullback: Jerome Felton, Minnesota
Wide receivers: Calvin Johnson, Detroit and Brandon Marshall, Chicago; Victor Cruz, NY Giants and Julio Jones, Atlanta
Tight ends: Tony Gonzalez, Atlanta; Jason Witten, Dallas
Offensive tackles: Russell Okung, Seattle and Joe Staley, San Francisco: Trent Williams, Washington
Offensive guards: Jahri Evans, New Orleans and Mike Iupati, San Francisco; Chris Snee, NY Giants
Center: Max Unger, Seattle: Jeff Saturday, Green Bay


Defensive ends: Julius Peppers, Chicago and Jason Pierre-Paul, NY Giants: Jared Allen, Minnesota
Defensive tackles: Justin Smith, San Francisco and Henry Melton, Chicago: Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay
Outside linebackers: Aldon Smith, San Francisco and DeMarcus Ware, Dallas: Clay Matthews, Green Bay
Inside linebackers: Patrick Willis, San Francisco; NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco
Cornerbacks: Charles Tillman and Tim Jennings, Chicago; Patrick Peterson, Arizona
Free safety: Dashon Goldson, San Francisco: Earl Thomas, Seattle
Strong safety: Donte Whitner, San Francisco

Special teams

Punter: Thomas Morstead, New Orleans
Kicker: Blair Walsh, Minnesota
Return specialist: Leon Washington, Seattle
Special teamer: Lorenzo Alexander, Washington

NFL video from Yahoo! Sports:

Other popular content on the Yahoo! network:
Andruw Jones arrested Christmas morning on domestic violence charges
Dirk Nowitzki visits hospital to play one-on-one with talented young fan
Watch: Alabama dad gets great Christmas surprise
ThePostGame: How a trick video landed an NFL tryout

What to Read Next