Bill Parcells, Cris Carter and Warren Sapp headline Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2013

Brian McIntyre
Shutdown Corner

Head coach Bill Parcells, wide receiver Cris Carter, left tackle Jonathan Ogden, defensive tackle Warren Sapp, guard/tackle Larry Allen, defensive tackle Curley Culp and linebacker Dave Robinson will comprise the Class of 2013 that will be inducted to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio.

The 2013 induction ceremony will take place on Saturday, Aug. 3, 2013.

The other finalists for the Class of 2013 were running back Jerome Bettis, wide receiver/kick returner Tim Brown, owner Edward DeBartolo, Jr., linebacker/defensive end Kevin Greene, defensive end/linebacker Charles Haley, owner Art Modell, wide receiver Andre Reed, guard Will Shields, defensive end Michael Strahan and cornerback/safety Aeneas Williams. When the Selection Committee trimmed the list of 15 modern-era finalists to 10, Brown, DeBartolo, Greene, Modell and Shields did not make the cut. On the next cut from 10 to five modern-era finalists, Bettis, Haley, Reed, Strahan and Williams were eliminated.

[Also: Watch Puppy Bowl IX on Super Bowl Sunday with Yahoo!'s IntoNow]

Parcells coached the New York Giants from 1983-90, leading the team to wins in Super Bowl XXI and XXV. After two years out of football, Parcells returned to coaching with the New England Patriots in 1993. Under Parcells, the Patriots returned to the playoffs after a seven-year absence and appeared in Super Bowl XXXI, which they lost to the Green Bay Packers at the conclusion of the 1996 season. In 1997, Parcells moved on to the New York Jets and that franchise to the AFC championship game in his second season.

Parcells finished his coaching career with the Dallas Cowboys. When he led the Cowboys to the playoffs in 2003, Parcells became the first coach to bring four different franchises to the playoffs. The two-time NFL Coach of the Year finished his career with a 172-130-1 record in the regular season and was 11-8 in the playoffs.

Cris Carter entered the NFL as a fourth-round pick out of Ohio State by the Philadelphia Eagles in the 1987 Supplemental draft and would go on to catch 1,101 passes for 13,899 yards and 130 touchdowns, ranking second in NFL history in both receptions and receiving touchdowns at the time of his retirement. While with the Minnesota Vikings, Carter set an NFL single-season record with 122 receptions in 1994, the first of eight consecutive Pro Bowl seasons (1994-2001) in his 16-season career. Carter finished his NFL career with the 2002 Miami Dolphins.

After an illustrious career at UCLA, Jonathan Ogden was the fourth overall pick of the 1996 NFL Draft by the Baltimore Ravens, where the 6-foot-9, 345-pound left tackle would spend all 12 of his NFL seasons. Ogden, the first draft choice in Ravens' history, started immediately and, in addition to being named to 11 Pro Bowls, was an All-Pro selection by his second season in the league. Ogden helped the Ravens to a win over the Giants in Super Bowl XXXV and was selected to the NFL's All-Decade team for the 2000s.

Warren Sapp was selected by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers with the 12th overall pick of the 1995 NFL Draft out of the University of Miami. Sapp made an immediate impact on the Buccaneers defense and was named the 1999 NFL Defensive Player of the Year, the first of four straight first-team All-Pro seasons. Sapp amassed 96.5 sacks during his 13-year career, an impressive total for an interior defensive lineman. Sapp was selected to seven Pro Bowls and was an NFL All-Decade selection for both the 1990s and 2000s.

Unlike his fellow modern era inductees, Larry Allen did not play his college ball at a football powerhouse. Allen's NFL journey began at Butte Junior College and continued at Sonoma State before he was selected with the 46th overall pick of the 1994 NFL Draft by the Dallas Cowboys. Allen spent 12 seasons with the Cowboys before signing with the San Francisco 49ers in 2006. During his 14-year career, Allen was named to 11 Pro Bowls, was a first-team All-Pro seven straight seasons and was named to the NFL All-Decade team of the 1990s and 2000s.

[ Mouthwatering eats on Super Bowl menu]

Curley Culp and Dave Robinson will enter the Hall of Fame as senior nominees.

Culp played 179 games over 14 seasons with the Kansas City Chiefs (1968-74), Houston Oilers (1974-80) and Detroit Lions (1980-81). Culp was selected to six Pro Bowls and a first- or second-team All-Pro in five seasons. In 1975, Culp was named the NFL's Defensive Player of the Year by Newpaper Enterprise Association.

Robinson played 12 seasons in the NFL, mostly with the Green Bay Packers, where he played from 1963-72 before finishing his career with two seasons with the Washington Redskins. Robinson started for the Packers in their wins in Super Bowls I and II, intercepted 27 passes in his career and was named to three Pro Bowls teams, as well as the NFL's All-Decade team for the 1960s.

Super Bowl video from Yahoo! Sports:

Other popular Super Bowl content on Yahoo! Sports:
Banished 49er Brandon Jacobs joins different kind of Louisiana parade
Departing Ray Lewis leaves behind complicated legacy
John, Jim Harbaugh finally address Super Bowl coaching battle
N.O. restaurants have reservations about Roger Goodell | Photos

What to Read Next