What's buzzing:

Big League Stew

Umpire Mike DiMuro blows call after fan (and not Dewayne Wise) ends up with foul ball (Video)

Big League Stew

Umpires, like any other category of human being, make mistakes. But the error that umpire Mike DiMuro made in Yankee Stadium on Tuesday night defies any explanation.

DiMuro incorrectly credited New York Yankees outfielder Dewayne Wise with a catch in the seventh inning after he tumbled into the front row of seats, Derek Jeter-style, on a foul ball hit by Jack Hannahan of the Cleveland Indians. With the benefit of video replay, it's easy to see the ball fall out of Wise's glove and roll down the row to a fan in a red shirt, who picked it up and held it aloft as DiMuro came over to investigate.

Some investigation it was, too. DiMuro didn't even ask for Wise to show him the ball. He simply assumed he caught it and signaled as such. Wise, not about to argue his team out of an out, instead kept his glove closed, collected himself and ran off the field — canary in mouth, if not ball in glove. After the game, won 6-4 by the Yankees, Wise copped to the drop. And DiMuro admitted he made a terrible mistake. Via the Twitter of WFAN reporter Sweeny Murti:

Ya' think? Perhaps it was too much to ask DiMuro to notice Wise drop the ball on sight, though Cleveland Plain Dealer reporter Paul Hoynes said DiMuro was "late" to the play. But to not ask the player to show the ball — any casual fan knows that's Umpiring 101 — it's inexcusable. Perhaps DiMuro just trusted that Wise, known for another gravity and logic-defying play in a much bigger moment, can catch absolutely anything.

But, as the video above and screencap below show, he cannot.

View photo

.

(MLB.TV)


Adding more injury to injury, DiMuro ejected Hannahan for arguing about it in the next half-inning. Hannahan, though understandably upset, said he didn't even swear at DiMuro. He should have been allowed a curse word or two. The Yankees were leading by four runs at the time, but DiMuro's call changing the outcome of the game isn't even the issue. How do you not ask to see the ball? Major League Baseball better be asking DiMuro that question, over and over, in the coming days.

There's Jim Joyce kicking away Armando Galarraga's perfect game, and there's Don Denkinger missing Todd Worrell's foot touching the bag in the 1985 World Series. There's Jerry Meals knocking the Pittsburgh Pirates out for the Atlanta Braves, and there's Phil Cuzzi being Phil Cuzzi. Their eyes were deceived. It happens.

But this? Just ask for the ball. If the guy in the red shirt hands it to you, then Wise didn't catch it.

Love baseball? Even like it a little?
Follow @AnswerDave, @bigleaguestew, @KevinKaduk on Twitter,
along with the BLS Facebook page!

View Comments (1285)
  • Ruthless Australia resume world domination

    Ruthless Australia resume world domination

    By Ian Ransom MELBOURNE (Reuters) - As Steven Smith pulled the winning boundary to crush a New Zealand fairytale and clinch a fifth World Cup for Australia on Sunday, Michael Clarke's side celebrated a glorious end to a journey marked by a period … More »

    Reuters - 11 minutes ago
  • Ferrari's Vettel storms to Malaysia win

    Ferrari's Vettel storms to Malaysia win

    By John O'Brien SEPANG, Malaysia (Reuters) - Sebastian Vettel showed again that form is temporary and class permanent when the four-times world champion put in a faultless display to record his first victory for Ferrari at the Malaysian Grand Prix … More »

    Reuters - 12 minutes ago
  • Malaysia signs F1 contract extension to 2018

    Malaysia signs F1 contract extension to 2018

    SEPANG, Malaysia (Reuters) - The Malaysian Grand Prix will stay on the Formula One calendar until 2018 after organisers signed a three-year contract extension on Sunday. Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak's office said in a statement the extension … More »

    Reuters - 13 minutes ago
  • New Zealand's ride of a lifetime ends in defeat

    New Zealand's ride of a lifetime ends in defeat

    By Nick Mulvenney MELBOURNE (Reuters) - The 2015 World Cup was, skipper Brendon McCullum said, the ride of a lifetime for New Zealand and even if Australia brought it to a shuddering halt in Sunday's final, their brilliant campaign will not quickly … More »

    Reuters - 14 minutes ago
  • Australia win World Cup in Clarke's fitting farewell

    Australia win World Cup in Clarke's fitting farewell

    By John Mehaffey MELBOURNE (Reuters) - Michael Clarke signed off from one-day internationals with 74 as a dominant Australia won their fifth cricket World Cup after crushing New Zealand by seven wickets at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday. … More »

    Reuters - 18 minutes ago