What's Buzzing:

Big League Stew

Daniel Bard balks twice during same at-bat (VIDEO)

Big League Stew

By referring to the rule book, defining a balk in Major League Baseball can be as difficult as figuring out the tax code. Strictly going by visuals, a balk also tends to be something that you know when you see it. Usually.

Daniel Bard of the Boston Red Sox doubled his balking displeasure Tuesday night in Kansas City, where he was called for a balk twice during the same Chris Getz at-bat in the second inning. Throw in a wild pitch later in the inning, in which the Royals scored three times, and it was a pretty damaging few moments for Boston, which fell 6-4.

Bard seemed generally bewildered about the whole thing, even after the game when explaining his side to reporters. As quoted in the Boston Herald:

"The balks is a fluke thing. I can't remember the last time I balked, ever," Bard said. "I don't think I've done it in the big leagues."

As reporter Michael Silverman points out, Bard's memory is a little hazy as he also balked in 2011 and 2009. But two in the same game? And same inning? Same at-bat? That's new territory for Bard. That would be new territory for most pitchers.

View photo

.

The umpire almost looks disappointed in Bard. (AP)

With runners at the corners, one out and a 1-1 count, Bard failed to remove his back foot from the rubber when he took a small step with his lead foot, wheeled around and threw to first. It looked odd and plate umpire Chris Guccione called it a balk immediately, which allowed Eric Hosmer to score from third. NESN analyst and former pitcher Dennis Eckersley concurred on TV. Bard tried to explain:

"The third-to-first, (the umpire) originally said I went toward home with my front foot first, but I knew I didn't," Bard said. "I tried to do a smaller step, not a full lift. Basically what ended up happening is I didn't clear my back foot, which, I thought if you just made a movement toward third it was OK."

See what I mean about the tax code?

With Getz still batting and a 2-2 count, Bard balked again. This time, Bard lost his balance as he tried whirling around to second base to keep Mike Moustakas in the neighborhood of the bag. The hop at the end cost him. Bard, knowing a balk when he saw one (this time), didn't argue. Manager Bobby Valentine didn't argue either. Managers are not allowed to.

"On the third-to-first, he didn't think he balked, and on second, he didn't think he balked,'' Valentine said. "Those are both kind of interpretation rules. You see both moves sometimes not called, but they were close enough to call.''

Eckersley complained that Bard was paying too much attention to baserunners and not the batters. Well, after the balking inning and until the eighth, the Royals didn't score, so Bard was focusing correctly. Unfortunately, he made too many mistakes early and late to help the Red Sox win.

Love baseball? Even like it a little?
Follow @AnswerDave, @bigleaguestew, @KevinKaduk on Twitter,
along with the BLS Facebook page!

Other popular content on the Yahoo! network:
Carl Beane, the voice of Fenway Park, dies in single-car accident
Former wide receiver Cris Carter admits to putting bounties on defensive players
Shine: Macho New York Yankee Derek Jeter has surprising daily habit

View Comments (140)
  • Mayweather happy in retirement but hints at ring return

    Mayweather happy in retirement but hints at ring return

    (Reuters) - Floyd Mayweather Jr is happily retired but the 39-year-old unbeaten American hinted in an interview on Saturday that a return to the ring could not be completely ruled out. Mayweather quit boxing in September after accumulating a 49-0 … More »

    Reuters - 5 minutes ago
  • Boxing-Mayweather happy in retirement but hints at ring return

    Floyd Mayweather Jr is happily retired but the 39-year-old unbeaten American hinted in an interview on Saturday that a return to the ring could not be completely ruled out. Mayweather quit boxing in September after accumulating a 49-0 record during … More »

    Reuters - 30 minutes ago
  • Formula One sets July deadline for cockpit device

    Formula One sets July deadline for cockpit device

    By Alan Baldwin SOCHI, Russia (Reuters) - Formula One will decide by July which head protection device it favours for 2017 with more testing likely at the Spanish and Monaco Grands Prix, race director Charlie Whiting said on Sunday. Red Bull … More »

    Reuters - 33 minutes ago
  • Leicester seek to clinch title with win at Old Trafford

    Leicester seek to clinch title with win at Old Trafford

    The champagne is at the ready, the Premier League trophy in place but what used to be a routine occurrence at Old Trafford will have a surreal twist on Sunday if Leicester City beat Manchester United there to clinch the title. Leicester's cast-iron … More »

    Reuters - 42 minutes ago
  • Piller hits every green en route to two-shot LPGA lead

    Piller hits every green en route to two-shot LPGA lead

    (Reuters) - American Gerina Piller produced another ball-striking clinic in the third round at the Texas Shootout on Saturday to earn a two-shot lead and put herself in position for her first LPGA title. The world number 20, in her sixth LPGA … More »

    Reuters - 45 minutes ago