On Saturday night, Dallas Stars defenseman John Klingberg appeared to score a goal against the Minnesota Wild. But the Wild asked for a video review, and the referees determined that Stars forward Antoine Roussel interfered with Minnesota goalie Devan Dubnyk.
From the NHL:
The Referee determined that Roussel prevented Dubnyk from doing his job in his crease, in accordance with Rule 78.7 which states in part: "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a ‘GOAL’ call on the ice is that the Referee ... determines that the goal should have been disallowed due to ‘Interference on the Goalkeeper,’ as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4.”
Rule 69.1 states that goals should be disallowed if "an attacking player, either by his positioning or by contact, impairs the goalkeeper's ability to move freely within his crease or defend his goal."
Look, we’re not sure what you saw here, what exactly did Roussel prevent Dubnyk from doing? Moving forward? He never made an attempt, soRead More »from Did refs get it right on Dallas Stars goalie interference review? (Video)